Who is online

We have 13 guests online


Last month July 2024 Next month
week 27 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
week 28 8 9 10 11 12 13 14
week 29 15 16 17 18 19 20 21
week 30 22 23 24 25 26 27 28
week 31 29 30 31

Upcoming events

No events

Giulio Rampa PhD Thesis Prize 2023 edition





Under the auspices of the Italian Society for General Relativity and Gravitational Physics (SIGRAV) and the sponsorship of the University of Pavia, our Graduate program is  the home of

  The Giulio Rampa PhD Thesis  Prize For Outstanding Research in General Relativity and Gravitational Physics.

A graduate of the University of Pavia, Giulio Rampa, in his short life, had a profound impact on his fellow students and the faculty of the Department of Physics of the University of Pavia. Following his Master in Physics, he soon entered The Graduate School at the Max Planck Institute for Gravitational Physics, (Albert Einstein Institute), Potsdam where he became deeply interested in general relativity. Known for his remarkable personality, as well as for his outstanding intellectual potential, Giulio Rampa’s life is celebrated through this prize honouring an outstanding PhD Thesis in general relativity or gravitational physics.

A monetary prize of 2,000 EUR will be awarded every two years to a graduate student for outstanding research on all aspects of general relativity or gravitational physics. The prize has been established in 2011, and is endowed under the terms of a donation from Nadia and Giorgio Rampa.


The Sigrav-Unipv Giulio Rampa Thesis Prize for oustanding research in General Relativity

and Gravitational Physics, 2023 Edition

See also the Giulio Rampa prize page on hyperspace@aei


Any PhD student who graduated in a University or research centre worldwide defending a PhD
Thesis on all aspects of general relativity or gravitational physics between January 1st 2020 and
December 31st 2022 is eligible to be nominated for this prize.

The nominator should submit – only via email and indicating 2023Rampa Prize in the subject of the email – all relevant material described below to the following address:

Prof. Mauro Carfora, Secretariat of The Rampa Prize Committee,
c/o Department of Physics,
Via Bassi 6, 27100 Pavia, Italy
e-mail: mauro.carfora[AT]unipv.it

The candidature material should comprise:
1) a one-page abstract of the PhD Thesis;
2) a full copy of the PhD Thesis;
3) a letter of recommendation from the Thesis Advisor;
4) one or more letters of endorsement – possibly from the Thesis reader – substantiating the
candidate’s contributions;
5) a complete CV.
All of the material should be submitted no later than March 31st, 2023. Self-nominations will not be accepted.

The following criteria are reviewed when selecting the Giulio Rampa prize recipient:

(i) Originality of Contribution; (ii) Breadth of Work; (iii) Publications; (iv) Quality of Nomination; (v) Quality of Endorsement.

The recipients of the prize are to be selected by a committee of international experts whose resolution will be communicated to the winners by June the 30th, 2023.The prize will be presented at the 25th edition of the “Italian Society for General Relativity and Gravitation (SIGRAV) Conference” to be held in September 2023 at SISSA(Trieste). This is the biennial Conference of the Italian Society for General Relativity and Gravitation (SIGRAV) devoted to all aspects of gravitational physics. The Rampa Prize-winner will have the opportunity to present his/her work during a special session of the conference. The winner will also be announced during the annual Honours Ceremony during the Inauguration of the Graduate Studies Academic Year in Pavia, in December 2023.

Former Recipients of the Giulio Rampa Prize:

2020 Tommaso De Lorenzo

The committee consisting of Profs. Lars Andersson, Mauro Carfora, Gerhard Huisken, Luciano Rezzolla, Fulvio Ricci prepared the following laudatio:

Dr. De Lorenzo’s thesis, “Black holes as a Gateway to Quantum: Classical and Semi-classical Explorations”  masters an impressive range of topics in quantum gravity,  providing  novel insights into deep conceptual problems of classical and quantum black holes physics.  The fresh point of view discussed by Tommaso De Lorenzo has already influenced several existing approaches to analyze black hole evaporation and it will certainly  continue to have an impact on the subject. It is a pleasure to see a Ph.D. thesis accomplish such a feat in a research field where one has to master a very large body of ideas in differential geometry, general relativity and quantum field theory and make real progress.”

2018 Davide Gerosa, Jan Ostrowski

The committee consisting of Profs. Lars Andersson, Mauro Carfora, Gerhard Huisken,  Luciano Rezzolla, prepared the following laudationes:

“Dr. Gerosa’s Ph.D. Thesis on “Source modelling at the dawn of gravitational-wave astronomy” shows an impressive ability to master a rather broad range of topics in relativistic astrophysics and gravitational wave physics. The research initiated by Dr. Gerosa in these areas has triggered  follow-up work, providing new important insights and  new physical scenarios. The large impact that the work of Dr. Gerosa has already had can only continue to grow.”

“Dr.Ostrowski’s Ph.D. Thesis on  “Mass function of galaxy clusters in inhomogeneous relativistic Cosmology” established him as a leading researcher in the field of inhomogeneous relativistic cosmology, i.e. the approach in cosmology where the epoch of nonlinear structure formation needs to be studied employing general relativity together with the “background” rather than separately. Dr. Ostrowski has revealed an impressive stamina in addressing this crucial theme, and his results will have a significant importance for the interpretation of data in the forthcoming era of precision cosmology.”

In recognition of the high quality of the nominations received, the Committee has also decided to award an honourable mention to the outstanding Ph.D. research carried out by Benito A. Juárez Aubry in the Thesis “Asymptotics in the time-dependent Hawking and Unruh effects, and to  Sumanta Chakraborty for the Thesis “Classical and Quantum Aspects of Gravity in Relation to the Emergent Paradigm”.

2016 not assigned

2014 David Radice

The committee consisting of Profs. Gerhard Huisken, Lars Andersson, and Mauro Carfora, prepared the following citation:

“Dr. Radice’s Thesis on “Advanced Numerical Approaches in the Dynamics of Relativistic Flows” discusses a number of novel numerical approaches dedicated to the solution of the hydrodynamic equations in relativistic regimes. The research initiated by Dr. Radice in so many different areas has enormously pushed forward the state-of-the-art in that field, providing new insight and resolving long-standing questions. Dr. Radice’s work has not been restricted to the construction of new and advanced numerical codes; rather, his work has been all about making use of these sophisticated tools to advance gravitational physics, probing with more precision and fewer resources new physical scenarios. The large impact that the work of Dr. Radice has already can only continue to grow in the future.”

2012 Thomas-Paul Hack

The Committee consisting of Profs. Gerhard Huisken, Lars Andersson, Luciano Rezzolla, and Mauro Carfora prepared the following citation:

“Dr. Hack’s  thesis On the Backreaction of Scalar and Spinor Quantum Fields in Curved Spacetimes marks a breakthrough for a thorough evaluation of quantum effects of matter for cosmology. It provides a relevant contribution to the field and will constitute an extremely valuable reference in the area of quantum fields in curved spacetimes and its cosmological applications.

FileDescriptionFile sizeLast modified
Download this file (2023RampaPrize Application Form.pdf)Nomination form 2023Nomination form 2023286 Kb12/09/22 20:22