Dean of the Doctorate College
Department of Physics Nuclear and Theoretical Physics
University of Pavia - via A. Bassi, 6
I-27100 Pavia - Italy
tel. and fax: +39-0382-987425

For more information:

which coordinates eight doctorate courses; for a total of 36 courses, as detailed in the following pages. Some of the Doctorates participate in international cooperative programs with foreign “partner Institutions” to deliver joint international certificates; others participate in “joint” training programs (joint advisors or cotutela) with Countries of the European Union.

The University of Pavia Doctorate College

Volta Courtyard - Central Palace
University of Pavia

The University of Pavia Doctorate College

The graduate program was introduced into the Italian University national system as the third level of higher education, by the President of the Italian Republic through the decree n. 382 in year 1980 and operated with steady continuity since 1983. The aim was to recover the delay existing with other European Countries awarding an advanced education title named “Doctorate”, introduced in the late XIXth Century in Germany to provide “problem solvers” to the industrial world. By law, the doctorate courses last three years. A possible extension of six to twelve months is allowed in special documented cases. Under the recommendations of the Ministry of University and Research in 2005, the programs were to be organized in “Doctorate Schools”. Thus, the doctorate program of the University of Pavia is now carried out by five specific Doctorate Schools grouped into a comprehensive College. In the attempt to be and/or to become a “Research University”, the University of Pavia is aiming at a set of “Doctorate of excellence” by mean of which to form higher education graduates, ready to act as “problem solvers” as envisaged in the very original meaning of “Doctorate”.

Each School coordinates several doctorate courses as to develop possible common research projects, science formation, series of common seminars and the list of formal courses offered to the graduate students by the single doctorate.The five specific Schools are:

- the “Alessandro Volta” School in Science and Technology which coordinates six doctorate courses;

- the “Camillo Golgi” School in Life Science, which coordinates ten doctorate courses;

- the School in Engeneering Science, which coordinates five doctorate courses;

- the School in Humanistic Science, which coordinates seven doctorate courses;

- the School in Economic, Juridical, Political and Social Science